Terry Whetstone Sportsman Spectacular Recap !!!


By Terry Whetstone

For immediate release

August 20, 2016

HESSTON, PA – Matt Parks of Three Springs copped the Topless 25 for the Limited Late Models at the Hesston Five Star Speedway Saturday night and took home $1,500 in money and prizes.

Joe Zapotoczny of Hollidaysburg, commonly referred to as Zap for easier pronunciation, ended a dry spell of more than six years to grab the Racesaver 305 main event. Ryan Sager of Huntingdon won the Street Stock feature event while the night ending endure was won by Christopher Anderson of Rockhill.

The Limited Late Models hit the speedway with Matt Parks and Dillon Stake on the front row with Parks putting the Ralph Morgan Jr. #44x in the lead at the drop of Gary Deems green flag. Stake was second with some yellows waving on lap three and four, but lap found also saw a red flag for a pile-up on the front stretch that saw Curtis Heath nearly clear the inside wall and saw Matt Nailer slam the inside wall where he went off on two wreckers. No one was hospitalized in the crash.

The race saw four more cautions slow the event by lap 17 before it went green to the end after that. Rance Garlock took second on lap four and Robbie Black was third with George Dixon Jr. fourth. Garlock and Black staged by far the best battle of the race, as they ran side-by-side for most of the race before the final checkered flag waved with Parks getting the win over Garlock, Black, Dixon, and Brad McGinnis. Heat wins were claimed by Parks, Black and Morgan while Morgan also set the fast time of the night at 17.353 seconds.

By virtue of the redraw, Joe Zap and Ron Aurand sat on the front row of the Racsaver 305 feature event with Zap taking the lead at the drop of the green flag and setting the pace. While Zap led the entire 20 lap, non-stop event, his win wasn’t an easy one, as he had Scott Lutz, Gregg Dobrosky, Aurand and Drew Ritchey coming after him.

Zap began with a decent lead, but as his tires went away, second through fifth began to reel him in, then the leader caught the rear of the field, as the lapped traffic slowed Zap, but he was able to hold off Aurand for his first ever Racesaver 305 win and his first sprint win in at least six years. Aurand, Lutz, Dobrosky and Ritchey rounded out the top five while Lutz, Ritchey and Reed Thompson copped heat wins.

In the Street Stock feature Cris Edwards Jr. and Ridge Bookwalter brought the field to the start with Bookwalter taking the lead but a yellow waved causing a restart. Edwards then took the lead and set the pace the first four laps, with Bookwalter on his tail the first four laps, then Ryan Sager took the lead and moved Edwards to second as fifth place starter Bill Henney was coming to the front. He set his sights on the top spot and moved past Bookwalter on lap five, as he tried every trick he ever learned to move past the leaders, but both Sager and Edwards were too fast for Henney on this night as Sager went on to get the win over Edwards, Henney, Bookwalter, and Devin Weyandt. Heat wins went to Sager and Henney.

Thirty-six enduro cars ended the night, with Derek Graybill making contact with the backstretch wall at the start and flipping before one lap could be completed. He was not hurt but was out for the night. The 50-lapper then continued with Chris Anderson taking the lead from his 16th starting spot and never giving it up, he went the distance for the victory, sitting through several more red flags to get the win by a lap over second place Jeremy Claar, Paul Crynock III was third, Darren Grissinger was fourth and Justin Everhart was fifth.

LAKESIDE NOTES: 89 cars filled the pits, including: 22 Limited Late Models, 17 Racesaver 305 Sprints, 14 Street Stocks and 36 enduro cars…coming up this Saturday, Aug. 27 is the Street Stock Bonanza paying $575 and that will include added lap money. Also on the card is the Limited Late Model Sportsman, Hobby Stock, 4 Cylinders and Penn Mar Antiques. Coming up on Sunday September 4 is the Last Fast Blast- Super Late Model feature paying $3,000. The Limited Late Model Late Model Sportsman , 305 Racesaver Sprints, Street Stock, Hobby Stock and 4 Cylinders will also see action. For more details check out the website at hesstonspeedway.com.




Limited Late Model Topless 25: 1. Matt Parks, Three Springs; 2. Rance Garlock, 3. Robbie Black, 4. George Dixon Jr., 5. Brad McGinnis, 6. Eric Irvin, 7. Dave Leidy, 8. Brad Kling, 9. Taylor Farling, 10. Dillon Stake, 11. Marvin Williams, 12. Joe Moyer, 13. Rick Hemphill, 14. Bryan Benton, 15. Greg Beach, 16. Kenny Yoder, 17. Curtis Heath, 18. Matt Nailer, 19. Mike Laugger, 20. Jason Fosnaught.

Disqualified: Ralph Morgan Jr.

Did Not Start: Jeremy Ohl.

RaceSaver 305 Sprints: 1. Joe Zap, Hollidaysburg, 2. Ron Aurand, 3. Scott Lutz, 4. Gregg Dobrosky, 5. Drew Ritchey, 6. Reed Thompson, 7. Nathan Gramley, 8. Rob Felix, 9. Kyle Colwell, 10. Ryan Lynn, 11. Judy Bates, 12. Hunter McCracken, 13. Jim Kennedy, 14. Kirsten Hess, 15. John Walp, 16. Bob Garvey.

Did Not Start: Brian Haney.

Street Stocks: 1. Ryan Sager, Huntingdon; 2. Cris Edwards Jr., 3. Bill Henney, 4. Ridge Bookwalter, 5. Devin Weyandt, 6. Brian Weyandt Jr., 7. Ronnie Johnson, 8. Matt Williamson, 9. Shane Seville, 10. Mike Desch, 11. Greg Moore, 12. Mark Whitsel, 13. Daren Desch.

Did Not Start: Mike Benton.

Enduro: 1. Chris Anderson, Rockhill; 2. Jeremy Claar, 3. Paul Crynock III, 4. Darren Grissinger, 5. Justin Everhart, 6. Cody Meyers, 7. Herb Taneyhill, 8. Larry Claar, 9. Robbie Turnbaugh, 10. Steve Diehl, 11. Terry Norris, 12. Eric Johnson, 13. Kenny Moses, 14. Brandie Millls, 15. Robbie Goss, 16. Stephen Bainey, 17. Joe Klester, 18. Ron Smith, 19. Jason Brenneman, 20. Brad McGinnis, 21. Levi Moore, 22. Isaac Kormanski, 23. Kenny Yoder, 24. Joshua Pollock, 25. Bill Fritz.