Fan Appreciation Night


By Terry Whetstone

For immediate release August 13, 2016

HESSTON, PA – With rain showers cancelling action across the Keystone State, Lewistown’s Nathan Gramley didn’t let it slow him down as he picked up the Racesaver 305 win on Saturday night at Hesston Five Star Speedway.

Ralph Morgan Jr. of Mount Union won the Limited Late Model feature while Frankie Gordon of Fannettsburg picked up the PA Mini Stock feature. Other winners include: Greg Moore of Defiance won the Street Stock feature, Alex Boozel of McVeytown won the Hobby Stock feature and Justin Williamson won his first Four Cylinder feature of the season at the speedway.

The Racesaver 305 Sprints took to the oval with Nathan Gramley and Gregg Dobrosky on the front row. Gramley took the lead and he pulled away from the field. A quick caution on lap six slowed the field and on the restart Gramley continued to set the pace. As he led, the race for second saw Dobrosky and Rob Felix jockey for the runner up spot. When Gary Deem waved the checkered flag 11 minutes later it was all Gramley getting the win over Doborsky, Darren Miller who came from seventh and was closing quickly on the Dobrosky at the end. Felix was fourth and Scott Lutz was fifth. Heat wins went to Gramley, Dobrosky and Felix.

Brad Kling and Ralph Morgan Jr. led the Limited Late Models to the start, and any time Morgan is on the front row, he’s going to be tough to beat. He took the lead at the start and pulled out to a commanding lead. As the race was going green, Dale Claycomb and Dan Sollers crashed on the backstretch with Sollers ending up on top of Claycomb, against the wall and on the left side of the car. It took track personnel a few moments to clear the crash, but thankfully no one was hurt.

When the race restarted Morgan took the lead and raced into a different time zone. He lapped upto and including the ninth place car. As he was leading the battle for second was a struggle, as Kling held the spot a while, before Curtis Heath took second then Rance Garlock was able to muscle his way into second and he eventually ended up there. At the end it was Morgan getting his fourth win of the season over Garlock, Robbie Black, Brad McGinnis from 13th and Wes Bonebrake who went to the rear following an early spin. Heat wins were shared by Garlock and Black.

Ryan Laye and Barry Welch brought the PA Mini Stocks to the start with Laye taking the lead and Welch in second. Fourth place starter Frankie Gordon was making his way to the front and on lap three he was second and set his sights on Laye. Gordon was able to pull alongside of Laye and they ran door-to-door several laps before Gordon took the lead and held off Jason Stoner for the win. At the line it was Gordon winning over Stoner, Gary Newell, Welch and Jeremy Ott. The heat was won by Stoner.

Ridge Bookwalter out ran Ronnie Johnson at the start of the Street Stock feature and fifth place starter Greg Moore moved into second on lap two, setting his sights on Bookwalter. Moore took the lead on lap three, but Bookwalter battled back and regained the lead on lap four. Bookwalter and Moore battled door-to-door for the next three laps, before Moore moved from the outside to the inside to try his luck and it paid off, as Moore was able to get the lead and eventual win. Bookwalter was second, eight starting Bill Henney was third, ninth place starter Ryan Sager was fourth and Cris Edwards was fifth. There was no heat.

A heatless Hobby feature saw cousins Mike Benton and Brad Benton lead the field to the green by virtue of their draw at the beginning of the night and they were fighting for the lead with Mike Duck and Alex Boozel, sometimes going four wide. The four wide action eventually sent bother Benton’s to the pits with mike able to return to the track and Brad done for the night. When the race went back to green it was Duck leading lap four before Boozel took the lead. Boozel was able to hold off Duck the rest of the way to get his fourth win of the year. Duck, Amber Mills, Mike Benton and Brandie Mills completed the top five.

Another low car count resulted in no heats for the Roadrunner/Four Cylinder division, as Justin Williamson and Kent Leonard were on the front row with Williamson taking the lead and holding on for his first win of the season. Leonard was a distant second with Chris Anderson third, Thomas Rogers was fourth and Matthew Duvall was fifth.

LAKE SIDE NOTES: There were 72 cars in the pits including: 21 Racesaver 305 Sprints; 17 Limited Late Models, 10 PAMS, 9 Street Stocks, 7 Pure Stocks and 8 Four Cylinders…Tim Lash collected the wall in his heat race and flipped the #12J in turn four, he was not hurt…Justin Steen of Greensburg was the winner of a Suzuki 400 ATV that was given away as part of fan appreciation night…Coming up this Saturday is the rescheduled Late Model Sportsman Topless Spectacular paying $1,350 to win; plus the Free Spirit 305 RaceSaver Sprints, the Street Stocks and a 50 LAP ENDURO for the 4, 6 and 8 Cylinders all in the same race. Gates open at 3 p.m. in the pits, 5 p.m. for spectators and racing begins at 7 p.m.



Limited Late Models: 1. Ralph Morgan Jr., Mount Union; 2. Rance Garlock, 3. Robbie Black, 4. Brad McGinnis, 5. Wes Bonebrake, 6. Dave Leidy, 7. Curtis Heath, 8. Brad Kling, 9. Eric Irvin, 10. Jeremy Ohl, 11. Dillon Stake, 12. Kenny Yoder, 13. Joe Luck, 14. Rick Hemphill, 15. Mike Lauffer, 16. Dan Sollers, 17. Dale Claycomb, Jr.

 Racesaver 305 Sprints: 1. Nathan Gramley, Lewistown; 2. Greg Dobrosky, 3. Darren Miller, 4. Rob Felix, 5. Scott Lutz, 6. Kyle Colwell, 7. Drew Ritchey, 8. Ryan Lynn, 9. Reed Thompson, 10. Dusty Shatzer, 11. Brad Mellott, 12. Jake Gomola, 13. Brian Haney, 14. Steve Kenawell, Sr. 15. Joe Zap, 16. Jim Kennedy, 17. Ed Mesaros, 18. Colt Lepley, 19 Bob Garvey, 20. Kyle Ganoe,

DNS: Tim Lash

 Street Stocks: 1. Greg Moore, Defiance; 2. Ridge Bookwalter, 3. Bill Henney, 4. Ryan Sager, 5. Cris Edwards Jr., 6. Devin Weyandt, 7. Ronnie Johnson, 8. Mike Desch, 9. Darren Desch.

 Hobby Stocks: 1. Alex Boozel, McVeytown, 2. Mike Duck, 3. Amber Mills, 4. Mike Benton, 5. Brandie Mills, 6. Brad Benton, 7. Cody Claycomb.

 Four Cylinders: 1. Justin Williamson, 2. Kent Leonard, 3. Chris Anderson, 4. Thomas Rogers, 5. Matt Duvall, 6. Kaili Hockensmith, 7. Shawn Miller.

DNS: Phil Best.

PAMS: 1. Frankie Gordon, Fannettsburg, 2. Jason Stoner, 3.Gary Newell, 4. Barry Welch, 5. Jeremy Ott, 6. Tony Hampton, 7. D.J. Keefer, 8. Tyler Kirby, 9. Ryan Laye, 10. Eric Seibert.